Perhentian Island


The Perhentian Islands (Pulau Perhentian in Malay) lie approximately 10 nautical miles (19 km) off the northeastern coast of West Malaysia in the state of Terengganu, approximately 40 miles (64 km) south of the Thai border.


The two main islands are Perhentian Besar ("Big Perhentian") and Perhentian Kecil ("Small Perhentian"). The small, uninhabited islands of Susu Dara (Virgin Milk), Serenggeh and Rawa lie off Kecil. The Perhentians belong to Pulau Redang National Marine Park, which means that fishing, collecting coral and littering are strictly prohibited. Like Besut, people here generally speak Kelantanese Malay.

Best Time To Dive

Diving possible between March and October. Traveling during the monsoon season from November to February is not advisable due to the strong winds.

Dive Sites

The Perhentian islands offer multiple dive sites for beginners, as well as some more challenging dive sites for those more experienced divers.

Perhentian Dive Site